First Team


Jomo Cosmos FC, a leading South African soccer team based in Johannesburg, is owned and coached by South African soccer legend, Ephraim Matsilele “Jomo” Sono, who purchased a then well known and successful Highlands Park FC in 1983.

Sono opted to buy the team after enjoying a highly successful career overseas where he played for famous clubs like Sporting Lisbon in Portugal, Canada’s Toronto Blizzard and American crowd-pullers New York Cosmos.

Jomo Cosmos was initially named Dion Cosmos in its first season, with the first part of the name representing the previous sponsor of Highlands Park, and the second part being the fingerprint of Jomo Sono, who decided to name his newly bought club after his former NASL outfit, the New York Cosmos.

Since 1984, the name of the club has remained Jomo Cosmos FC, and with it has come a mixture of success in terms of laurels won as well as the production of talent for local and overseas market.

Jomo Sono’s motive for investing in soccer has always been to recognize and build raw talent, and over the years his team has accentuated and developed a strong youth policy that has made Cosmos one of the leading brands in South African football.

Apart from his numerous achievements as a coach of international repute, Jomo has built a strong legacy within and outside the shores of South Africa, and is renowned for discovering and developing some of the finest talent to have played in the local league, for South Africa’s national teams and for clubs abroad.


1986-BP Top Eight semi finalists
1987 National Soccer League (NSL) Champions
1990 BOB Save Super Bowl Champions
1991 BP Top 8 runners up
1993 Africa Cup Winners’Cup (Mandela Cup) semi finalists
1994 NSL Second Division Champions
1996 BOB Save Super Bown finalists
1997 Africa Cup Winners’ Cup (Mandela Cup) quarter finalists
1998 Castle Club of the Year
2001 Coca Cola Cup runners-up
2002 Coca Cola Cup Champions
2003 SAA Super 8 Champions
2004 HRH Prince Abdullah Cup semi finalists
2005 Coca Cola Cup Champions
2006 Winners of Chailanse Champions Tournament-Gauteng
2009 National First Division (NFD) Champions
2011 National First Division (NFD) Champions
2016 Winners, Inaugural Transversal Cup (Mpumalanga 2016)


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


Stay Up To Date with YOUR Team!

Join Our Insiders Newsletter

We will NEVER SPAM you.

Log in with your credentials


Forgot your details?

Create Account