TS Sporting claim maximum points as Cosmos lose third consecutive game

Ezenkosi goal scorer, Letlhogonolo Kekana

Jomo Cosmos lost their third straight NFD game and eight overall when they went down 2-1 to TS Sporting at the Kwabokweni Stadium last Saturday.

While Carlo Gie, Lethogonolo Kekana and Nigerian defender Stanley Umukoro marked their debuts for Cosmos, it was the 50th League-game milestone for Ezenkosi Captain, Ange Dahou Lebahi.

Following the previous week’s 2-0 defeat at Ajax Cape Town, the Ezenkosi bench reshuffled their starting line-up with Umukoro partnering Lebahi in central defence, while midfielder Carlo Gie was also handed a starting shirt.

However, the changes seemed to have minimal impact as the hosts dominated play for long spells even after scoring the opening goal early on.

Ezenkosi were left with a mountain to climb after Roggert Nyundu struck after only five minutes and Sibongakonke Mbatha added the second just before half time to put Sporting firmly in the driving seat.

The second stanza resumed with Cosmos battling on all fronts to salvage something from the game but it wasn’t until the last minute of stoppage time that substitute Letlhogonolo Kekana scored directly from a corner kick for Ezenkosi’s solitary goal.

But it was a case of too little, too late as the home side held on to scoop the maximum points.

Cosmos’ next league game is at home to Mbombela United on February 3.

Prior to that, the team takes on Baroka FC in a Nedbank Cup Round of 32 fixture at the new Peter Mokaba Stadium in Polokwane on January 29.


TS SPORTING (2) 2 (Nyundu 5’ Mbatha 43’)
JOMO COSMOS (0) 1 (Kekana 90+3)
Mlungisi Malanti – Percivell Nkabinde, Emmanuel Shoyisa ©, Sanele Mkweli, Katlego Mashego, Thobela Sikhakhane (Jabulani Ndebele 65’), Gabriel Moseki, Aphiwe Lubisi, Sibongakonke Mbatha, Decide Chauke, Roggert Nyundu (Mathosi Lucky 90’).
Bongani Manavhela, Nelson Maluleka, William Nkosi, Thubelihle Magubane, Malekana Noko.
Samuel Troughton
Buthelezi – Zondi, Stanley Umokoro, Lebahi ©, Hanamub – S. Ledwaba, Maziya (Mpontshane 67’), Carlo Gie, Mbokoma, Jnr Sono (Masuku 65’) – Mncube (Letlhogonolo Kekana 85’).
Chibwe, Gumede, S. Nkosi, Ohizu.
Jomo Sono
BOOKED: Zondi, Shoyisa, Lubisi

-Mark Ogagan


Log in with your credentials


Forgot your details?

Create Account